FORUMS: list search recent posts

Audio Video Encoding and players

COW Forums : Web Design

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Christopher KeyAudio Video Encoding and players
by on Feb 15, 2011 at 7:38:21 am

I'm new to web design but due to the projects I'm getting involved in I need to have several websites with a lot of audio video content spread out through them. I shoot a lot of HD video on my and a video blog for one project might be good promotion. I own the CS3 master collection so I have Dreamweaver and Flash. I have many questions but my first here is about audio/video - Can anyone point me to info on current best practices for encoding video and audio for the web. I'm also wondering about delivery. Since I shoot and edit video for a living my life depends on having good looking video. I'm also a musician so I'd like to put up all my music. It would be really cool to have a video player that could hold multiple sources, is reliable and easy to manage and a music/mp3 player that can handle song ;libraries easily. I'm willing to pay for the players if it will save me time and make my life easier. Thanks in advance.

Christopher Key

Return to posts index

Mike SmithRe: Audio Video Encoding and players
by on Feb 15, 2011 at 9:26:42 am

Specific prebuilt Flash players with decent reputations include and

It might be worth starting with the longtail player.

There's also which might be worth exploring : or search for a Flash player with HTML5 / iOS support.

Otherwise, you are entering a hot zone. Flash has been the dominant force in web video for some time, using different codecs inside a Flash video wrapper. This provides great flexibility and programmability, and works on nearly all desktop platforms.

But in recent times Apple has sold a lot of iPhones and iPads (with good web browsing capability), and does not support Flash video on these devices.