FORUMS: list search recent posts

server for video that will be on my Web site

COW Forums : Web Design

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Victoria Murphy
server for video that will be on my Web site
on Nov 28, 2010 at 6:44:50 pm

I am designing a Web site--my first. I have a Web master that creating it in WordPress. I need to have a two-minute video clip in it. I have permission to use the music in the video clip on my site, but not to post it publicly. Too, the footage is mini-DV, so the image quality is less than what we are accustomed to viewing.

I need a server that can host my video without it being available for public viewing. I would like it to be as high a quality image as possible. I want to host it as inexpensively as possible. (One of the purposes of the site is to help me raise the money to complete the video. It is a "cinedance"--think contemporary dance and video having a baby.)

Do you know of a server I could use for this? Is there a way to use YouTube or Vimeo and not have it available for public viewing?

Thanks.

Return to posts index

Fernando Mol
Re: server for video that will be on my Web site
on Nov 29, 2010 at 4:15:25 pm

Wordpress have a large number of plug-ins that support video.

To play a video (or an audio file) you don't need any external site or service, unless you are streaming. Almost any hosting plan will allow you to upload a video. Use the plug-in to add a player.

I hope this helps

Return to posts index

Victoria Murphy
on Nov 29, 2010 at 5:20:17 pm

Hi Fernando. I do want to stream the video.
Victoria

Return to posts index

Fernando Mol
on Nov 29, 2010 at 5:35:21 pm

Neither Youtube or Vimeo stream their videos. They are downloaded.

Are you sure you know what streaming is?

If you are sure and you want to stream, you need to pay for a streaming server. Ask your hosting provider for a plan.

Return to posts index

Victoria Murphy
on Nov 29, 2010 at 6:12:51 pm