FORUMS: list search recent posts

Send graphic to back and add text on tp

COW Forums : Web Design

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Sue Pfeiffer
Send graphic to back and add text on tp
on Dec 3, 2009 at 7:34:19 pm

I'm using DeamweaverCS4 and I have a small graphic that I want to insert, which I have done, and I want to add text on top of it. How do I send that image backward so I can type on top of it? I'm new to this software.
Thanks in advance. You guys are always very helpful.

Return to posts index

Curtis Thompson
Re: Send graphic to back and add text on tp
on Dec 3, 2009 at 7:43:01 pm

hello....

i don't use dreamweaver so i can't give you those steps, but the concept behind it would be one of these 2 ways:

1. make the background of a div or other table cell (any block element) the image. then you can put text in the div and it will appear over the div

2. absolutely position the 2 elements (one block element for the image and one for the text) and set a z-index for each and make the z-index higher for the text element.

#1 is much easier to do, but it isn't always possible, so i gave you the other option as well. sorry i can't give more specifics on how to do that in dreamweaver, but with hope that gives you some ideas?

sitruc

Return to posts index

Jameson Wallace
on Dec 3, 2009 at 8:23:27 pm

you have to position your cursor before the image and hit the enter to insert a new paragraph.

if you are having trouble getting the paragraph to insert in the right place, try using the arrow keys.

if you have inserted a paragraph, but are dismayed that the text has a bottom margin and thus doesn't appear directly above the image, you can eliminate the margin by setting the line-height css attribute for the paragraph, or by using the
tag.

| Jameson Wallace
| Motion Graphics Festival
| New Motion + New Sound + New Code
| http://MGFest.com

Return to posts index

Sue Pfeiffer
on Dec 3, 2009 at 8:36:22 pm