FORUMS: list search recent posts

HTML Tables & Text Columns

COW Forums : Web Design

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Brad Jayne
HTML Tables & Text Columns
on Sep 28, 2009 at 10:13:52 pm

Hey folks,

I am using very basic HTML code to design a site. I'm an amateur here, and trying to keep it as simple as possible, but am using tables to create a centered page.

My table in question is set up as one row with two columns; the left column, which is wider, is main body. I'm using the right column for a list of links. For some reason, I am not able to align the text in the right column at the top of the column; it's placement horizontally seems to be dictated by the text in the other column. Whenever I add text to the left column, the right column moves down.

It seems like the text in these two columns would be unaffiliated with each other, since they are completely separate columns. Can you help me ensure that I've programmed it that way?

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Brad Jayne

Return to posts index

Curtis Thompson
Re: HTML Tables & Text Columns
on Sep 28, 2009 at 10:24:53 pm

hello...

do you have a sample online we can take a look at?

sitruc

Return to posts index

Brad Jayne
on Sep 28, 2009 at 10:40:02 pm

I don't have the actual site in questions up, so I don't have that.
But here's a snip of the preview site:

sitesample.jpg

The left column is working fine. If you'll look about halfway down the right column, you'll see the text "SEARCH Clip 1." That's the highest it will go in that column; I want it all the way to the top.

Again, if you hit return in the text on the left column, the right column will line break with it. It seems like they're connected somehow. The columns are separate; it seems like the text would be as well, and I'd be able to place in each column exactly as I want.

Return to posts index

Curtis Thompson
on Sep 28, 2009 at 10:50:36 pm

hello...