FORUMS: list search recent posts

Video color different in Firefox and Safari

COW Forums : Web Design

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Jim Bromley
Video color different in Firefox and Safari
on Sep 16, 2009 at 2:33:17 am

Hi Guys,

I'm a video editor having a problem with some videos I have created being displayed differently in different browsers.

I've created a series of 853 x 480 H.264 videos. When I look at these videos in Firefox, they look like they should, but when viewed in Safari, the videos appear slightly lighter and desaturated. The difference is not dramatic to the untrained eye but it's driving me crazy. Is this a common issue, for video colors to vary from browser to browser? If I mention the problem to my web designer are there scripts he can implement to make up for the difference? Thanks for any insights...

-Jim

Return to posts index

cowcowcowcow
Mike Smith
Re: Video color different in Firefox and Safari
on Sep 16, 2009 at 8:34:21 am

Safari has colour management (which is optional in Firefox, though I believe rarely used). So image display in Safari will be affected by any colour profiles attached to the images. Does your video come with a colour profile? Do these articles help ... ?
http://www.gballard.net/psd/go_live_page_profile/embeddedJPEGprofiles.html
http://css-tricks.com/color-rendering-difference-firefox-vs-safari/
http://discussions.apple.com/thread.jspa?threadID=1067675
http://forums.macrumors.com/archive/index.php/t-480481.html

Return to posts index

Fernando Mol
on Sep 16, 2009 at 1:46:01 pm

Jim, can you post a link to your site?

What is true is that Mac monitors have a different gamma display than Windows monitors (Mac is brighter), but that wouldn't be a "Safari only" problem.

*Remember to share a link to your site and to rate the posts. This is a free service for you and for us.

Return to posts index

Mike Smith
on Sep 16, 2009 at 7:08:13 pm

Hi Fernando