FORUMS: list search recent posts

viewing a page

COW Forums : Web Design

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Susan Wilcoxviewing a page
by on Aug 12, 2009 at 3:15:21 am

I am new to webpage design but I know html and css. I work on a Mac mini. I have downloaded a template to my harddrive, opened TextEdit, changed the setting to "plain text" and then opened the index.html file to make a change. Then, when I access that changed file in Safari, it shows me the TextEdit version with the change, not the formatted one. This seems so simple, but it doesn't work. What am I missing?

Susan

Return to posts index

Curtis ThompsonRe: viewing a page
by on Aug 12, 2009 at 3:27:30 am

hello...

did text edit change the extension of the file to .txt? if so you'll need to remove that...

sitruc

Return to posts index

Susan WilcoxRe: viewing a page
by on Aug 12, 2009 at 3:47:11 am

No, it didn't change the extension to .txt but to .html. However, I have just discovered that TextEdit strips all coding from the document by making it a "plain text" document. so that is exactly the problem, it is no longer referencing the style.css stylesheet! How do I put the html web document in a text editor that I can preserve the codes from the template and make changes?

I appreciate your help on this. I'll be happy if I can just play with code. I don't want to take the time to learn GoLive or another program.

Susan

Full Duck Productions

Return to posts index

Curtis ThompsonRe: viewing a page
by on Aug 12, 2009 at 4:15:52 am

hello...

if you go to the format menu in plain text and say "make plain text" then it will be a non-rtf doc and you should be able to save it as a plain text html file...

sitruc

Return to posts index

by on Aug 12, 2009 at 4:24:30 am