FORUMS: list search recent posts

Career Advice:

COW Forums : Web Design

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Josh Haskell
Career Advice:
on Jan 25, 2009 at 12:55:57 am

Hello,

I currently am a college student taking some basic web design courses. I enjoy putting together websites and content and like to dabble with low end graphics. I am, however, NOT a graphic designer by any means.

My question is, what advice could you give to a "non graphics" person wanting to make themselves marketable to join a web design team at a company. I enjoy the CSS and xhtml part of coding and putting everything together. Is it possible to become marketable by gaining extensive knowledge in PHP, CSS and XHTML and still have a shot at joining a companies web team? Or do I have to be graphically elite instead?

I hope this makes sense. I love web development and putting all of the pieces together, I'm just not an artist. I'm confident I can take an artists work and apply it to a workable web page though...and that's what I'd like to do.

Suggestions for areas of emphasis?

Thanks! --Josh H.

Return to posts index

Fernando Mol
Re: Career Advice:
on Jan 25, 2009 at 3:07:21 am

To make web pages you need a...
-Programmer
-Coder
-Designer
-Writer
-Salesman

Also it will be better if you have a...
-Photographer
-Video producer
-Animator
-3D designer
-Salesman

So the answer is yes, you can make a team in a web design company, but you will rarely accomplish the task of having a happy client with just the programming and coding skills. Remember the web is about the people and graphic design is not about fancy graphics.

You are young, just let yourself go doing what you love. Your path will reveal itself in the proper time.

Return to posts index

Josh Haskell
on Jan 25, 2009 at 6:59:31 am

Fernando,

Thank you much for your insight.