FORUMS: list search recent posts

registering users

COW Forums : Web Design

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
John Farrellregistering users
by on Oct 24, 2008 at 6:05:34 pm

I currently host my own site with a fairly simple design (using Dreamweaver).I'm wondering how difficult/costly it is to take the site to the next level? Meaning, if I want to have visitors register (for free) to see/read my content, and then to keep track of the list as it (hopefully) grows so I can update visitors etc.

Earthlink offers a database tool, but I have little experience with db tools, and not even sure I need one.

Any pointers or advice welcome.

John Farrell

Return to posts index

Abraham ChaffinRe: registering users
by on Oct 24, 2008 at 8:01:46 pm

There is a bit of a learning curve for doing this, however not unbearable as there is a ton of help online instantly at your finger tips if you know what to google. If you are the site admin of your own growing web site and you plan on keeping that way I suggest you learn MySQL and PHP. MySQL is the most commonly used database and php is the most commonly used server side scripting language. Both are highly documented. You can get a starter tutorial lesson here:

Start playing around with it and hopefully you'll see things are pretty straight forward if you start small and just add on more functionality as you need it.

Return to posts index

John FarrellRe: registering users
by on Oct 24, 2008 at 8:21:31 pm

Thanks, Abraham. I appreciate it. I'll check out the link.

John Farrell

Return to posts index

Fernando MolRe: registering users
by on Oct 29, 2008 at 4:22:15 pm

The trick with databases is that you need to install a "virtual" version of them in your computer so you can test your pages, then, upload them. You will also need to create your databases in your server. The data in both of them can be different, but the tables must be the same.