FORUMS: list search recent posts

Newbie question regarding online forms

COW Forums : Web Design

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Leor Brenman
Newbie question regarding online forms
on Jul 30, 2007 at 5:53:34 pm

Hi,

I am a novice website designer who can design basic web sites.

I am trying to implement a web site with the following feature (similar to a shopping cart but it is not a cart, per se) and hope to get some pointers on what technologies I will be required to learn/implement and what requirement this feature places on the hosting site:

(a) viewers of the web site will view images of product (I can do this easily)

(b) when the viewer sees a product they like, they will click a button and the 'item #', 'item description' and 'price' will be recorded somewhere (not sure how to do this)

(c) they can continue to view items, clicking on desired items to add them to the recorded list

(d) when they are done, they click a button to submit the order

(e) the order will be e-mailed to a desired e-mail address

I am guessing that this is not trivial and will require scripting, etc....

Any pointers will be greatly appreciated.

Best Regards,
Leor

Return to posts index

Abraham Chaffin
Re: Newbie question regarding online forms
on Jul 30, 2007 at 6:17:09 pm

Hey Leor,

It sounds like a shopping cart to me but if you are wanting to custom build something like this you will need to learn some more advanced web techniques than just common html. I would use php and mysql to accomplish something like this, both have good reference material online to help you get started. php.net is a great resource to learn just about anything with the language.

You will also need a cookie handler or use sessions to store the information as you want the browser to remember information as they continue to browse and make additions or changes to their order.

Return to posts index

Leor Brenman
on Jul 31, 2007 at 2:23:23 am

Hi Abraham,