FORUMS: list search recent posts

Pricing for a Website

COW Forums : Web Design

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
avrnosnPricing for a Website
by on Apr 15, 2007 at 8:58:39 pm

I just finished coding a website, and I'm not sure how to price it. First of all, here's the link, so you'll know what I'm talking about:
The design (the actual images) and videos were made by a different company. Originally, this was on an interactive cd rom. I had to take the original images, create buttons, link pages, and most of all, create 2 versions of the site; a default flash site, for which I had to encode all the qt movies in flash format, and a qt version.

Now I'd like to know how much you guys would charge for the kind of work that went into this site. The reason I'm asking, is that I was learning as I was creating, so it took me very much longer than it would have otherwise. Not that I don't have any experience, it's just that I've never done this kind of site before (with all the videos, etc.)

So the point is - I can't charge based on the time it actually took ME to produce. How much is such a site worth???

I hope I was clear enough. Thanks for any help.

A. Perl
Tam Graphics

Return to posts index

Curtis ThompsonRe: Pricing for a Website
by on Apr 15, 2007 at 9:34:16 pm

you can't really assign a fixed price to a site - typically you make an estimate up front and then try to keep to that. in your case with learning, it's harder, but then you should figure what it's worth to you to do the site and learn at the same time and talk with the client and let them know that and give them a are very at risk at this stage of having to eat a lot of cost because your client has no idea what you'll be charging...

say, for example, that i told you here that a site with that type of content, video, etc. etc. should be worth $1000 - could you go to your client now with a $1k bill in hand and get paid?