FORUMS: list search recent posts

Can anyone recommend a good + inexpensive shopping cart software?

COW Forums : Web Design

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
baillan
Can anyone recommend a good + inexpensive shopping cart software?
on Jul 3, 2006 at 1:44:54 am

I'm starting a small home business and am in the market for a shopping cart software that's very easy to use and inexpensive. I use FatCow and we get the basic version of ShopSite, but you can only list 15 products at a time, which isn't enough for me. (BTW, I use Adobe GoLive and I am NOT a web expert...although I've designed a few simple sites).

Do any of you have a recommendation? I am looking for basic - bells and whistles aren't important, but ease of use, reliability and cost are. It's a VERY small home business, so the cost of the shopping cart can't outweigh my profits.

Thanks in advance,
Baillan

Return to posts index

Curtis Thompson
Re: Can anyone recommend a good + inexpensive shopping cart software?
on Jul 3, 2006 at 3:59:22 am

hello...

i always mention things like pay pal - easy to use and relatively cheap to set up and configure...and they handle all cc woes for you, which is a big deal if you are a small shop without a ton of insurance to handle the case where your third party isp has a disgruntled employee who cleans out your cc database on his way out the door...

but if you want to do it yourself, something liks oscommerce (http://www.oscommerce.com/solutions/oscommerce) might work for you...

if my brief rambles raise more questions, please do let me know! :-)

sitruc

Return to posts index

Bret Williams
on Jul 3, 2006 at 4:23:56 am

I've found the paypal option can be a great solution because you don't have to modify your site one bit. All you do is add a simple button that says add to cart (or whatever you want it to say).