FORUMS: list search recent posts

Help with advanced web forms, data maipulation, and dynamics...

COW Forums : Web Design

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Scott_G
Help with advanced web forms, data maipulation, and dynamics...
on Dec 16, 2005 at 2:51:09 am

Hello.

I am looking for advanced web page/site creation resources. I have CS2 Premium, Studio 8, MS Frontpage, as well as numerous HTML editors (Hotdog, Hotmetal, etc).

I am rather familiar with web page/site creation. I have been doing this for several years. I have invested a small fortune in software and books on the subject, but nothing thus far has addressed my needs. I host Apache2 http server and other web applications here on my dedicated server, domain, and IP.

I am interested in FORMS creation and data manipulation. Anyone can plop some text and check boxes into a webpage. What I am looking for is ADVANCED forms and manipulation. Once data is entered into the forms, a 'submit' button is hit. Then what? I want to know HOW to process this information. Do I have to be a java or vb scripting guru to handle this?

Example: A web site that requires registration. I would like to require users to login with user/pass to have full access to the website's resources. The form must handle the login and validate the user. Also, for a NEW USER, they must have a place to REGISTER. Once the new registration information is entered, where does it go? Do I have to have extensive programming knowledge in PHP, Java, CGI, or the like to process this information? Maybe the new user is automatically entered into the registered user list as a 'limited' user until the user's information has been validated by an Admin? It would be nice if the new users appear on an Administrator page where the Admin may verify the information and grant/refuse full access, or delete the new account. Ok, so you get the idea here.