FORUMS: list search recent posts

Slow Loading Navigation Bar

COW Forums : Web Design

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
jay lee
Slow Loading Navigation Bar
on Nov 16, 2005 at 2:36:51 am

Good evening,
Let me preference this post by saying I am not a web designer. My back ground is entrenched elsewhere. Having said that I know just enough to get my self in trouble!!

Recently published the following site: http://www.jordanvalenti.com

It seems to working OK except for the fact that the navigation bar

Return to posts index

Bret Williams
Re: Slow Loading Navigation Bar
on Nov 16, 2005 at 3:46:24 am

I guess you figured it out. It loads in less than a second for me in Safari on a cable connection. The rollovers are loaded faster than I can move my mouse to them.

Return to posts index

jay lee
on Nov 16, 2005 at 6:03:26 am

Good evening Bret,
Thank you for taking the time to write.
NO.......I haven't changed a thing. My comments based on the performance I am witnessing on my system (PC) with IE and Mozilla. I thought my connnection was screaming fast??? Is your system "typical"?

Cheers,
J

Return to posts index

Curtis Thompson
on Nov 16, 2005 at 2:42:13 pm

hello...

nope - works fine here as well (mac/pc and a variety of browsers) and the mouseover images i sampled were all under 1kb, so it's likely not a network issue even for people on a modem...unless perhaps he rest of your page is still loadiing for you - loading takes priority over rollovers, so they could be a bit jerky if you are still loading a large file, but that didn't seem to be a problem.

but i doubt that is an issue (unless you're on dial-up?) - do the rollovers work once you go over them once or are they slow each time?

2 other things: