FORUMS: list search recent posts

Need PHP help

COW Forums : Web Design

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Phil-lipNeed PHP help
by on Aug 19, 2005 at 1:47:46 am

Hello Everyone,

I'm new to PHP and am stuck on a problem. Might be my lack of knowledge of PHP, or might be a logic problem I'm not solving...

I am creating a gallery for people to order prints of images from. Each image has pull-down selector to enable visitors to order from 0-10 of 4 different sizes of print. So there would be 4 variables which need to be passed for each image.

This works just fine when I type everything but I'm using my newfound PHP knowledge to use a "for" loop to create the layout for each image - the thumbnail and 4 pulldowns for each size. I have the html which creates the layout loop up to the number of images in the gallery.

This part is great - I can instantly have the thumbnails and pull-downs set for lots of images... however, since the "select" tags are buried in the for loop, the variable name is exactly the same for each image - say a 5x7 has the variable name "$5x7_1" - it now has the same name for pictures 2 and up as well.

Is there a way to increment the _1 part of the name within the for loop? So that the 2nd image's variable would be "$5x7_2" and so on? I've tried writing the name as "$5x7_$rownumber but this doesn't work within the for loop.

Or is there some better way I'm missing? I can't figure out how to do this with an array either.

here's a url if it helps - please ignore the disasterous HTML, I'm just trying to get the script working before I redo the whole thing w/CSS...

Return to posts index

Phil-lipSORRY - here's the right url
by on Aug 19, 2005 at 1:50:15 am

Return to posts index

Curtis ThompsonRe: Need PHP help
by on Aug 19, 2005 at 3:49:18 pm