FORUMS: list search recent posts

The SuperApp? A current Smoke user's take...

COW Forums : Autodesk Smoke

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
David Jahns
The SuperApp? A current Smoke user's take...
on May 1, 2012 at 7:09:12 am

As a long time FCP user, and now currently a recent Smoke-Mac user, I've been swamped with discussion about the new version.

I started to write a post here during NAB, then it became a longer article, and then - hell - I figured I should just start my own blog, as I'm sure I'll have lots more to say during the Beta release, and beyond...

I'm the first to admit I'm no expert Smoke artist yet, but from reading the forums over the last few weeks, I'll be there are thousands of people out there in the same situation I was in last year, and might find my experiences with Smoke-Mac helpful.

http://fcp2smoke.com

An awfully exciting time to be in the industry... Cheers!

David Jahns
---
Joint Editorial
Portland, OR

Return to posts index

Michael Gissing
Re: The SuperApp? A current Smoke user's take...
on May 1, 2012 at 8:20:42 am

Thanks for the thoughts and insight. Exciting times indeed.

Return to posts index

Greg Andonian
on May 1, 2012 at 9:25:55 am

Your blog was really interesting, and cleared up several of the questions I had about the new Smoke.

I also liked this part:

"The reality is that EVERYONE who learns editing learns the Avid/FCP/Premiere way of working, and it’s a brilliant move for Autodesk to concede that they lost that battle, and make their app work according to the standard conventions."

Return to posts index

Simon Ubsdell
on May 1, 2012 at 9:32:42 am

Interesting and informative read, thanks!

I'm glad you pointed out that Smoke is not a grading app in the strict sense: