BORIS FX: Boris FX Forum Boris FX Tutorials After Effects Motion Graphics

Switching from FCP to Premiere Pro 6 - need advice on Boris products for transitions

COW Forums : Boris FX

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Jonathan FrankSwitching from FCP to Premiere Pro 6 - need advice on Boris products for transitions
by on Jul 18, 2012 at 7:20:07 pm

I'm a long-time Final Cut Pro user who is transitioning over to Premiere Pro 6. I'm in the process of learning the program and for the most part happy with the change and how readily the skill set switches over.

The one thing that is woefully lacking in Premiere Pro is in the arena of transitions and I am trying to discover the best fix to replace all the transitions (and filters) that I had in FCP that unfortunately won't transfer over. I am currently wading through the morass of Boris possibilities and...more than a bit overwhelmed and confused as to what would work best - especially since I am used to 'automatic transitions' that one simply applied between to clips (versus the transitions in BCC and FEC that seem to be all 'create them yourself by tweaking keyframes on layers'). Between that and Red's "open another program to do anything" interface, it honestly seems like a lot of work and time to do what used to be a largely automatic function.

So my questions are

1) am I missing something? Is there another version of a Boris product that is more traditional (or at least what I'm used to) in nature?

2) as there is so much overlapping in regards to what filters and transitions are included in each package, which is the best match (or value)

3) where can I find good tutorials for applying Boris to Premiere Pro (especially FEC - the videos I found on Boris' site claimed to be for Premiere Pro but were for After Effects instead).

Thanks for any navigational advice you can give

Return to posts index