BORIS FX: Boris FX Forum Boris FX Tutorials After Effects Motion Graphics

Credit Rolls and Rendering Problems

COW Forums : Boris FX

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Ken Bennett
Credit Rolls and Rendering Problems
on Oct 3, 2011 at 11:41:05 pm

Well, this is my first project in Boris Red: a credit roll. I used a tutorial actually for Graffiti that helped me get through it with lots of trial and error. But I finally got the first credit roll created (white text on black background. Then it took me a few hours to find out where you can actually render anything. But I finally found that. So I think I have everything figured out, but the render fails every time.

First issue: the timeline tells me my credit roll is 1 second long. The actual time needed to roll and read this should be about 20 seconds. The tutorial seems to indicate all I need to do is stretch out the rendered clip in my Vegas timeline. Is that a fact?

Second issue: OK, I finally found where the render button was buried. And it seems to only work once. You can't re-render. But when I attempt to render, I get an immediate error. Says "Quicktime export failed". No explanation.

So, what am I doing wrong? How do I get this credit roll into Vegas?

I'm working with Boris Red 5 standalone, WIN 7 64bit and Vegas Pro 10e is my editor.

HELP!

Thanks,

Ken Bennett
Video Adventures
Capturing Your Life's Adventures!

Return to posts index

peter mcauley
Re: Credit Rolls and Rendering Problems
on Oct 4, 2011 at 1:25:57 pm

Hi Ken,

• When Boris RED is used as a plug-in, ie, in Vegas, then the length of the composition in RED is determined by the length of the clip to which the plug-in was applied. If the clip in Vegas is 2 seconds long, then the timeline in the RED composition will be 2 seconds in duration. To change the length of the RED composition in this scenario, you must change the length of the clip in Vegas.