BORIS FX: Boris FX Forum Boris FX Tutorials Motion Graphics After Effects

Motion track with blur filter

COW Forums : Boris FX

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Dan Caldwell
Motion track with blur filter
on Jun 29, 2010 at 4:56:54 am

Hello: I'm relatively new to Red. I'm trying to track a blur to a persons forehead. The reason why will take longer than the question. My problem is ... (I've followed the Boris Help info and the tutorial) I can generate a good motion track but the "apply" tab options in the 'Motion Tracker" window allow two choices; "Top-Left" and "Bottom-Right". If I choose "Top-Left" it will track that corner of a rectangle shaped Blur filter properly but the Bottom-Right corner scales with the motion of the camera. The opposite occurs with the other choice. What am I doing wrong? Thanks for any advise. Dan.

Return to posts index

Matthew Mullen
Re: Motion track with blur filter
on Jun 29, 2010 at 2:22:54 pm

If you choose none from this menu what is your result?

Return to posts index

peter mcauley
on Jun 29, 2010 at 3:09:51 pm

I'd suggest using the BCC Witness Protect filter to achieve that result - it's the easiest and fastest way to do this in Boris RED.

Cheers,

Peter.

Return to posts index

Dan Caldwell
on Jun 29, 2010 at 3:42:37 pm

Hello Peter:

Thanks for the note. I'll give that a try. It's the classic situation where I've done precisely what the HELP tutorial states and the result is a non-functional effect. There's some tweaky issue.

Thanks for the help. Dan.

Return to posts index

Dan Caldwell
on Jun 29, 2010 at 3:33:23 pm

Hello Matthew:

Thanks for the note. If I choose "None", the rectangle shaped blur (defined as a region with the pixel chooser) maintains the proper constant shape but doesn't track the video. The pixel chooser key frames are set to constant.

Any advice is appreciated. Dan.

Return to posts index

Matthew Mullen
on Jun 29, 2010 at 4:15:20 pm