BORIS FX: Boris FX Forum Boris FX Tutorials After Effects Motion Graphics

Something very broken with Chroma Key Studio...

COW Forums : Boris FX

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Phillip D'Annibale
Something very broken with Chroma Key Studio...
on May 4, 2010 at 11:16:16 pm

Hi, are their any other users out there experiencing funky behavior with BCC Chroma Key Studio (CKS)? I'm rather new to the plug-in so I'm not sure what the normal is. (mainly render/export times)

My setup:
MacPro 2007 Octo, 16 GB ram, plenty of HDD, 10.5.8 all up to date, FCS 2 with latest updates. (Updated on April 13th)

This morning around 9:00am I was running version 6.0.5 of CKS, which appeared to be doing a great job on a 1080i ProRes piece of Green screen footage about 2:30 seconds in length. That is until I went to export a reference file.

First off it was slated to take roughly 2 hours to complete this task. I figured CKS takes it's time to render, but 2 hours was seeming a bit ridiculous for such a short clip. (up until this point all the exporting I have done with CKS has been an overnight affair on larger batches) At any rate I had a mind bending meeting to get to so I let the file process. I returned after about 2 1/2 hours and the file was completed, I opened the video to review it and something was horribly wrong.

The composition is a simple talking head with the green being replaced by a standard corporate type setting. The background was fine, it was the talking head that had taken on a totally new appearance, it sort of looked like a bad hologram effect from Star Wars. The subject was pink, semi transparent, full of noise and grain, and had moved almost completely out of frame. *screen shots available upon request*

Okay so this was the first time I used the accompanying Match Color filter and I thought that was giving me the problem. After 15 minutes of exporting a 10 second clip, I was staring at the same holographic result.