BORIS FX: Boris FX Forum Boris FX Tutorials After Effects Motion Graphics

Creating a picture wipe transition effect preset

COW Forums : Boris FX

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
gerwyn bowen
Creating a picture wipe transition effect preset
on Nov 14, 2009 at 4:45:07 pm

I am new to MC and Avid FX. I am used to using FCP and am now using MC 4.03. I want to create a transition between two video clips on the avid sequence timeline where an image wipes across the screen left to right(or up and down) over the outgoing video and revealing the incoming video as it passes, like I used to in FCP using the Supawipe transition plugin. Can I do this in Avid FX and create a preset that I would store in the quick transitions bin so that I would simply change the image used in the wipe to speed up the process? The images would be in tif or jpeg format (e.g. a logo or a bouquet of flowers, etc.). Anyone know of any tutorials that would show how to do this? Thanks in advance for any assistance.

Return to posts index

Steve Pankow
Re: Creating a picture wipe transition effect preset
on Nov 15, 2009 at 10:57:04 pm

There are a number of simple Avid shape wipes available in the effects palette without even having to get into Avid FX.

Return to posts index

gerwyn bowen
on Nov 26, 2009 at 9:47:13 pm

I don't want to have a gradient wipe. I want to overlay an image and have that move over the outgoing video. As it passes, the incoming video is revealed followin/chasing the image. this is easily achieved in Supawipe (by Idustrial Magic) in FCP. I can't seem to find a simple solution for AVID MC. Any help would be gratefully received. The effect can be seen at: http://idustrialrevolution.com/component/option,com_sobi2/sobi2Task,sobi2De...

Return to posts index

Matthew Mullen
on Nov 30, 2009 at 4:55:44 pm

Gerwyn,

If you launch the Library Browser you can access the presets in RED/Avid FX.

In the Keyframe Library go to Transitions> DVE Transitions> Pushes.