BORIS FX: Boris FX Forum Boris FX Tutorials After Effects Motion Graphics

External Monitor with FCP 6 & Red 4.1

COW Forums : Boris FX

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Joe Widmer
External Monitor with FCP 6 & Red 4.1
on Sep 16, 2009 at 2:45:37 am

Hi folks. I appologize if this has already been gone over before. Unfortunately I have not been able to find the specific answer.
I'm running Boris Red 4.1 and FCP 6 on a Power Mac G5 with AJA Io LA.
When I'm working with Red as a filter in FCP I am not able to preview my Boris Red project on my external monitor. I have tried connecting to external monitor in Boris. No go. I am however able to view Boris Red on my monitor when I run it stand-alone.

I'm new to FCP after having worked with Avid and Media 100 systems in the past. I would sure appreaciate any help resolving this issue.

Thanks!
Joe

Return to posts index

peter mcauley
Re: External Monitor with FCP 6 & Red 4.1
on Sep 16, 2009 at 12:46:33 pm

Hi Joe,

You might want to get in touch with someone in our support department - I'm sure one of the techs there can assist you with this problem. You can reach them via email at support@borisfx.com.

Cheers,

Peter.

Return to posts index

Joe Widmer
on Sep 16, 2009 at 2:07:17 pm

Ok . . . Thanks Peter.
I was hoping to participate in discussions here at the Cow and perhaps get some technical advice as well. I have no problem going to Boris tech support, just trying to save a few bucks. I purchased a previously owned FCP system with Boris Red installed. I have all the documentation but no active technical support plan. And yes, I have read my manuals and researched other avenues with no success. I just thought based on the hundreds or thousands of other tech related discussions on here that I might be able join in and gain some insight and advice from fellow video professionals. I guess I was wrong.