BORIS FX: Boris FX Forum Boris FX Tutorials Motion Graphics After Effects

Boris Red moves like molasses in winter....

COW Forums : Boris FX

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Norman Willis
Boris Red moves like molasses in winter....
on Dec 15, 2008 at 4:37:05 am

Hello.

I am new to Boris Red. I watched the Chris Vadnais video, and read some of the Instant Boris FX book, and thought just to jump on in and then play around some.

I made a 25 second effect with two simple 3D extruded texts. One did three revolutions in 25 seconds, and the other did three spins (x and Y axis). Nothing fancy. Pretty basic first-try stuff.

I hit 'render' and it took perhaps a half an hour for the engine to cycle through the effect. Settings are draft quality, 25% scale, output is all low quality, and draft mode. I thought to myself, "Hmmm, Chris Vadnais' computer did not move this slow!"

Does anyone know what I am doing wrong? I know this is not the hottest machine in the world. I checked the performance window, CPU usage was about 75% (or something), while system RAM was down around 1/3rds used. I was surprised, as I thought it would be the opposite of that.

I don't mind if the final render takes a while, but can anyone please let me know how I can set the thing to give me a draft render that shows me what I am rendering, so I can play around and learn how to use Boris FX before I grow old?

Thank you very much for your help.

Norman

Primary Video machine: Dell Precision 380, Pentium D 930 3.0 GHz, 4 GB RAM, Windows XP, NVidia GeForce 8600GT +1GB, C: and D: in RAID 0 with external backups. Sony Vegas 8.0c, RED 4.3. Recording with Sony HDR-FX1, feed to hdd with Sony HCR-HC1, HDV.