BORIS FX: Boris FX Forum Boris FX Tutorials After Effects Motion Graphics

Bcc3 effect templates to be used with Bcc4

COW Forums : Boris FX

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
pedro casaisBcc3 effect templates to be used with Bcc4
by on Mar 23, 2008 at 12:33:54 am

Hi,

I'm a finisher editor for Network shows. I work on different shows on a yearly basis and carry a lot my effects with me. The last show I worked on had Bcc3 avid plugins and I created a ton of effects that can be used evergreen. This new show I am on now, has the Bcc4 avid plugins version. I opened the bin with the effects I created on Bcc3 on this new system with the Bcc4 version and I can see that the effect icons don't show up their effect symbols, they look like blank squares.

Is there a problem having this software use previous version effects templates? I didn't have time to test them yet but my fist guess is that they won't work. On the other hand, I will be blown away if that's the case being the same company and having a software that seems so versatile with everything else.

Any ideas?

Thanks in advance.
PC

Return to posts index

peter mcauleyRe: Bcc3 effect templates to be used with Bcc4
by on Mar 24, 2008 at 2:02:45 pm

Hi,

Well in order for the effects that you generated using BCC 3 to become available in BCC 4, you must install BCC 3 on that system as well as BCC 4. Then you promote the BCC 3 effects from AVX 1.5 to AVX 2.0. Then the plugs will work with BCC 4. You can uninstall BCC 3 safely once you have promoted all of the BCC 3 effects from AVX 1.5 to 2.0.

I hope this helps.

Peter.

Return to posts index

pedro casaisRe: Bcc3 effect templates to be used with Bcc4
by on Mar 24, 2008 at 3:06:28 pm

Thank you Peter,