BORIS FX: Boris FX Forum Boris FX Tutorials Motion Graphics After Effects

BCC--First Boris & Lost

COW Forums : Boris FX

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
NateW
BCC--First Boris & Lost
on Oct 15, 2007 at 8:10:04 pm

I'm a mostly self-taught editor who has been working on an older Avid and just upgraded to an AXP that came with BCC. I was lost in trying to figure it out so I bought the training DVD from Boris. The DVD seems to assume I've been using Boris my entire life. Never once does it say, "Okay, to build an effect here's step 1..." maybe I'm really dense, but I don't have a clue what is going on here. The keyframes don't seem to work like it seems they should and all the DVD is telling me is that there are all kinds of really cool sliders and buttons to explore.

I also ordered a DVD to help figure out Marquee. To my horror I have since learned the same host does both DVDs, so expect to see me back here soon on that subject as well....

HELP!

Return to posts index

Vik Narayan
Re: BCC--First Boris & Lost
on Oct 16, 2007 at 12:05:02 am

NateW,

Sorry to hear about your experience with the training DVD. If you can tell me the effect you are trying to create, I can try and help. Over the years, BCC has evolved into a rather complex set of tools, and any training video can go only so deep without running into hours for each plugin (times 180 for the lot).

But there are a lot of users on this forum who may be able to help you as you go as well. Peter McAuley from Boris FX frequents this forum and can always give you tips "from the source."

Vik Narayan

Return to posts index

NateW
on Oct 16, 2007 at 1:25:02 pm