BORIS FX: Boris FX Forum Boris FX Tutorials After Effects Motion Graphics

why vector text not look good?

COW Forums : Boris FX

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Dave Groenierwhy vector text not look good?
by on Aug 13, 2007 at 6:41:21 pm

After seeing the demonstration at NAB I got me a brand new Intel Mac with FCP Studio 2 and RED 4.1. I love using RED's vector text on my Avid systems with edges so sharp they could cut paper. But on the FCP system they look downright crappy, like Atari 2600 crappy. The edges are so jagged they look crosshatched. When I convert the text from Line Art to a 3D Plane they look slightly better (huh?), but what's the point if I can't animate in Z space.

So what gives? I'm new to Macs and FCP. Is there a setting I'm missing somewhere? or do I need different fonts maybe? Thnks.

Aquire in DVCAM, capture and sequence set to 10-bit Uncompressed Anamorphic.

Return to posts index

peter mcauleyRe: why vector text not look good?
by on Aug 13, 2007 at 6:51:27 pm

Hi Dave,

I'm glad to hear that you are enjoying working with that set-up - it's certainly a fast one, that's for sure. I'd like to assist you with the problem that you are having with text in RED within FCP. In that regard, I have a couple of questions for you ...

Return to posts index

Dave GroenierRe: why vector text not look good?
by on Aug 13, 2007 at 9:00:12 pm

Peter,

Thanks for the quick response. I did a test from the standalone engine by exporting a simple text animation as a Quicktime w/alpha and keyed it over a clip in FC, it showed similar problems. I think it may be a FC or Kona problem as it only shows up on the video output after FC renders it.

Everything looks fine on my computer displays but when it gets to the video monitor...whoa! I use a Sony MEU-WX1 LCD as a production monitor and also have a Trinitron CRT out by my decks. I thought the LCD might have been part of the problem but it shows up just as bad on the CRT.