BORIS FX: Boris FX Forum Boris FX Tutorials After Effects Motion Graphics

Transparent backgrounds in RED 4.0

COW Forums : Boris FX

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
GreenMartian
Transparent backgrounds in RED 4.0
on Aug 5, 2007 at 3:13:53 am

Keeping in mind that I'm new to RED, I am having problems creating and importing files with a transparent background into Vegas.

I have created a simple 15 second 3D extruded text clip in the stand alone RED engine. Then I import the file into Vegas. Unfornaturely, it has a black background, which I don't want. I have tried several export settings in RED, and always end up with the same results, a black background. I've tried exporting as .mov, & .avi. Also, I've tried all of the 5 different alpha settings in the movie export settings box (straight, premultiplied black, premultiplied white, etc.) Still, get the same results, black background.

I assume a transparent (zero alpha) background can be exported and imported into Vegas. Any suggestions on what I might be missing will be greatly appreciated.

GreenMartian.

Return to posts index

stephenlnoe
Re: Transparent backgrounds in RED 4.0
on Aug 5, 2007 at 11:49:30 am

when you export it are you selecting the color space "millions of colors +" as your color space? Also what type of file are you exporting, for importing into Vegas?

Return to posts index

gensi1
on Aug 5, 2007 at 4:47:24 pm

When I needed to export a show opening these were my settings:

Under Compression Settings

Compression type: None
Compressor Depth: Millions of Colors+

Movie Export Settings

I use Straight Alpha

Hope this helps.

Gensi

Return to posts index

stephenlnoe
on Aug 5, 2007 at 5:44:44 pm

But what are you exporting? MOV? TGA sequence? what....

Use TGA sequence with millions +. I don't know of any NLE that won't use it.

Return to posts index

mossman
on Aug 9, 2007 at 8:26:04 pm