BORIS FX: Boris FX Forum Boris FX Tutorials After Effects Motion Graphics

Looking to understand Blue's preview rendering capabilities...

COW Forums : Boris FX

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
RomeoEcho
Looking to understand Blue's preview rendering capabilities...
on Aug 24, 2006 at 4:14:46 am

Hello,

I am trying to get my head around some of the information that I have been reading on the Boris website.

Primarily, the statement "100% Hardware Previewing and Rendering to Disk". Hardware Previewing is obvious. It's the "Hardware Rendering to Disk" part that has me puzzled.

I understand that by hardware, they are refering to the GPU. Are they suggesting that they are using the GPU for rendering to disk? I do not suggest that I am an expert on video hardware. It makes sense to me that the main system passes off data and math to the GPU for processing prior to putting the results on your display. But I was not aware the system could pass data and math off to the GPU for processing and then suck the results back for writing to disk. Is this the big breakthough that Boris is suggesting that Blue is capable of?

If not, exactly what hardware is being used to render to disk that might be different than, let's say Red? Could it be that the Blue rendering to disk is properly multithreaded so it uses all CPU's on a multi CPU system? I have observed that the Red engine does not render to disk using more than one CPU. This would be great news. And I would suggest that such a capability (Multi-CPU Rendering to disk) in Blue would bode well for Red 4.

So where am I out to lunch on this?

Return to posts index

peter mcauley
Re: Looking to understand Blue's preview rendering capabilities...
on Aug 24, 2006 at 5:08:45 pm

Hello,