BORIS FX: Boris FX Forum Boris FX Tutorials After Effects Motion Graphics

Render Times and Preview

COW Forums : Boris FX

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
bluquillRender Times and Preview
by on Jun 16, 2006 at 9:40:00 pm

I am a relative newbie to RED and am wondering if my experience is normal.

I have an 11 sec clip that is taking 5 hours to render using both DVCPRO 50 and the Animation codecs.
This seems excessive to me, but as I say I am new to using this program.

The clip has a glass rectangle shape extruded to 3d. I have a psd still photo masked to the back that has a chroma key applied to it
and a psd still image with alpha applied to the front. Text types on as the shape "floats" in space. (think "anderson cooper 360" graphics)
I have applied motion blurring on render.
Also even when I set everything to draft and 25% I can barely scrub through the timeline.

I know I am asking for the program to do a lot of things at once, but if the render times are this long, and the previews are basically useless then
I can't see how I will be able to use RED for what I need to do.

Do I just need to lower my expectations or is there a way to speed up the work flow?

Thanks

greg

System=
G5 dual 2.0 -
3.5g Ram -
160g internal hd -
250g internal hd -
Two 500g Lacie Big Disks via Firewire -
20in Apple cinema display

Return to posts index

mark harveyRe: Render Times and Preview
by on Jun 17, 2006 at 2:50:12 am

First thing I want to check with you is the following : Are you rendering in the Red engine, or are you using Red as a plug-in through an NLE. The reason I ask, is because in my experience, Red works faster as a stand-alone. Don't get me wrong, it is a great plug-in, but a better workflow for complicated comps is to set-up in NLE, save the Red setting, then open the standalone. This is due to the RAM and processing that the NLE must pass along to Red.