BORIS FX: Boris FX Forum Boris FX Tutorials Motion Graphics After Effects

Liquid 7 configuration & newbie

COW Forums : Boris FX

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
aisurf
Liquid 7 configuration & newbie
on Dec 20, 2005 at 5:18:27 am

To Mark Harvey or anyone who can help,

Hi Mark I read your review of Liquid 7 and was very impressed. You said you take questions from the novice because everyone starts there - so here I am.

I am brand new to this editing game and slowly climbing the learning curve. I am entering this arena because I want to be able to produce a series of instructional cooking videos for my wifes business. I purchased a Dell pentium D 840 (3.2 GHz) dual core system with 2GB ram, Serial ATA RAID dual 250 GB drives, (DVI/VGA/TV-out)nVidia GeForce 6800, 16X DVD-ROM and 16X DTD+/-RW, Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS, XP Professional system. However, as I enter into this task I see that other configurations or hardware may be necessary.

Questions:

Obviously I am not producing a motion picture or something that needs super special effects. I do want something that looks professional enough for resale - has some graphics, titles, dvd menu's, sound track, voice over's. In your opinion do I need Liquid 7 or would Studio 10 do the trick?

If liquid 7 is your choice - what other hardware do I need to make it run successfully on my system? Do you have any suggestions on how I should proceed in getting my system set up correctly and climbing the learning curve? I use this system as a business computer as well - any thoughts on setup configuration under these conditions and software conflicts if I am running it for both editing and regular email, word processing etc? I have seen several sites that sell tutorials - any suggestions?

Also, any last thought on Adobe Premier Pro vs Liquid. I keep gravitating back to Liquid. Which do you prefer?

Thanks so much for any guidance - I value your opinion.

Sincerely,

Ron

Return to posts index

mark harvey