FORUMS: list search recent posts

Recording, Livestreaming, and Closed Captioning all at once?! (x-post question from a terrified newbie)

COW Forums : Corporate Video

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Emily Schooley
Recording, Livestreaming, and Closed Captioning all at once?! (x-post question from a terrified newbie)
on Jan 9, 2015 at 6:31:26 am

(Please note that I have cross-posted this in several forums. I hope that's okay... I am really stressed out about this and am casting a wide as possible net for help.)

I've been doing basic video production for a few years now, but it's been "show up, film, edit, send finished product to client", which I can do. I have a single camera setup and shoot with a Canon XA10, along with various audio and lighting gear. Mostly indie stuff.

A new client wants me to run video for a live discussion panel event - not just filming the event, but they also want to:
a) be livestreamed to the internet at the same time as recording
b) possibly have a separate recording of translated French audio, to be later edited in to the video (this isn't as big a problem, as I have a Zoom H6 I can record audio on)
c) simultaneously, they would also like to have closed captioning broadcast for accessibility reasons - though I think this is just within the room itself. They said: "the closed captioning service would be reflected at the bottom of a projected feed of the video onto the (projection) screen."

To put it mildly, I am confused about how to do this, or if it would all even be possible at once.

To the best of my understanding from what I've researched so far, for the livestream, I would have to run HDMI out of the camera to a capture card of some sort.
First problem: I've never used a capture card.