FORUMS: list search recent posts

What Would You Charge?

COW Forums : Corporate Video

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Jason Nelson
What Would You Charge?
on Jan 7, 2014 at 8:43:31 pm

Hey gang. I create corporate videos for a living and I'm primarily a post-production guy, in that most of the work I do is in the editing, vfx, and animation stage. I have a potential client who is asking for a bid to do the entire process from scratch.

The exact instructions he gave were, "...we would come with you with an outline/rough script and you would need to develop the animations, custom footage, voice over etc bringing the product to completion. We will not have any footage to provide you with so everything will need to be done from scratch."

The client wants about 100 twenty minute training videos produced and they will all include filming, animation, green screen, voice over, etc. I have all of the gear to do all of this kind of work because although I said "most" of my work is in post, I have done some filming and such, so there would be very little equipment investment needed (though, I would probably need to invest in some temporary staff to pull it off).

The other wrinkle in this project is that these training videos will all be resold to other companies at a rate of about $300 per video.

So, my question to you is, if you were bidding on a project like this (about 100 videos, 20 minutes each, filming, animation, green screen, voice over, etc.), what would you charge? Would you charge per video or would you charge for the whole bundle? I know what I would charge for post-production work, but the regular production work is a little outside of my normal duties.

I appreciate the advice you can offer.

Return to posts index

Mark Suszko
Re: What Would You Charge?
on Jan 7, 2014 at 10:13:13 pm
Last Edited By Mark Suszko on Jan 7, 2014 at 10:18:26 pm