FORUMS: list search recent posts

Reigniting that creative spark within 'the box'

COW Forums : Corporate Video

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Joe KnappReigniting that creative spark within 'the box'
by on Dec 8, 2013 at 2:58:42 am

Let's face it...corporate video is not the endless fountain of creative inspiration. More often than not, our brains are trying to figure out how to repackage the same old talking-head videos, product laundry list, and dry policy speech...all in a fresh, creative way.

How do you guys keep the creative juices flowing? What do recommend when faced with yet-another standard video from (insert department or executive here), who prefers 'safe' over 'edgy'?

Return to posts index

Steve BrameRe: Reigniting that creative spark within 'the box'
by on Dec 8, 2013 at 1:44:40 pm

Good question. Personally, I'm a technical editor - competent in the editing software, but need someone to provide the creative ideas. But, as you pointed out, I've been beat down so many times when attempting to insert 'edgy' into our productions, that I've become very jaded to the aspect.

Case in point - a piece for a fulfillment center. I had a shot of a large forklift moving up and down a very long row of product, raising and lowering to the height of the items to be picked. I thought it would be a perfect spot for a simulated time-lapse by speeding up the clip. Looked great! But...the client was afraid that their clients would think that their equipment actually moved that fast, and would be concerned about breakage. Seriously.

Still, that shot's going in our reel.

Asus P6X58D Premium * Core i7 950 * 24GB RAM * nVidia Quadro 4000 * Windows 7 Premium 64bit * System Drive - WD Caviar Black 500GB * 2nd Drive(Pagefile, Previews) - WD Velociraptor 10K drive 600GB * Media Drive - 2TB RAID0 (4 - WD Caviar Black 500GB drive) * Matrox MX02 Mini * Adobe CC
"98% of all computer issues can be solved by simply pressing 'F1'."
Steve Brame