FORUMS: list search recent posts

Does anybody use After Effects for storyboarding?

COW Forums : Corporate Video

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Corbin Gross
Does anybody use After Effects for storyboarding?
on Aug 6, 2013 at 10:34:12 pm

I know, there's a forum for AE threads. But Corporate Video seems like the place this time.

I've been working all afternoon on trying to get a storyboard going for a spot I'm working on. It's my first time trying to do something like this (the story board I mean), and I'm finding it very difficult. I have almost no sketching ability, and absolutely no skill at representing dimension. I've played with a few storyboarding apps, and they're just not able to convey my intention.

So I started building a few sets in AE, threw in some people (just a few ellipse shapes stuck together) and I'm finally getting somewhere. Most of the surfaces are 90deg to each other, so those snap right in. I can move people around in space and then swing the camera to any angle I want. I'm not measuring or anything, so nothing is to scale, but this is just step one.

I think I'm going to use this as a reference for a second set of slides that I'll draw in PS once I have my sets built. It'll be like those posable wooden people that the fine artist use for scale. "But you'll do it twice" you say, but I've gotten more done in 20 minutes than about 3hrs of just pencil and paper.

Has anybody else done this? I imagine that if there were some tricky camera moves or if elements needed to be added later that this, done properly, would be pretty useful as an animatic or previs. I'm just going to be shooting simple, 1 camera scenes, but I want to get everybody on set on the same page.

Corbin Gross | SANMAR
Photographer/Videographer | Marketing
22833 SE Black Nugget Road | Issaquah, WA 98029
206.727.5501 x5237
http://www.sanmar.com

Return to posts index

Guy McLoughlin
Re: Does anybody use After Effects for storyboarding?