FORUMS: list search recent posts

Starting internal video production. What camera and gear to use?

COW Forums : Corporate Video

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Nathan Bayless
Starting internal video production. What camera and gear to use?
on Jul 24, 2013 at 7:03:23 pm

I work for a mid sized company that wants to beef(ha!) up it's internal training videos. This is a privately owned business, not a corporation, so the dynamics are a little different, but I didn't see a private company video forum ;). In the past, the owner has shot most of the videos with a Canon Vixia hf s20 camcorder and now wants to start working up to a full studio with a professional look over the next two to three years. I have some experience in post production as a colorist and editor, but none behind a camera and I'm not entirely sure what gear to suggest to get started and was hoping to get some suggestions from you guys. Right now, he wants to create internal training videos that don't necessarily need to look professional, but down the road to create social media videos and high quality internal training videos. Part of what will make shooting these videos difficult is that they are going to be at random locations in his branches across the country (USA), often outside at night, or on the fly using fluorescent lighting, or on a cruise ship. I won't always be able to set up lighting or even have time to pull out a reflector and it may include a lot of moving around and following a subject. Truth be told, I'm not entirely sure what the budget is. I think that it will be between $10,000 and $15,000 for everything based off the conversations I have had with him but I'd prefer to pitch him a lower number. This is the list of the gear I priced out:

Canon C100 - $5500
Canon EF-S 17-55 f/2.8 IS USM - $1180
Canon EF-S 55-250mm f/4-5.6 IS II - $300
Redrock Ultra Field Cinema Bundle Shouldermount rig w/ follow focus and 4lb weight - $2120
Zacuto Z-Finder Pro 2.5x - $375