FORUMS: list search recent posts

After Effects CS4 - Rendered Text and Vector Graphics are Jagged

COW Forums : Corporate Video

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Deborah McFarlinAfter Effects CS4 - Rendered Text and Vector Graphics are Jagged
by on Jan 9, 2013 at 4:08:58 pm

I'm a newbie working in AE CS4. The footage I'm using are QuickTime clips in 1280x720, 23.976 fps, 1.00 PAR. The footage and JPEG images used in the project look fine when rendered in the Render Que at: Best settings, Full resolution, Lossless - QuickTime, H.264 compression at 1280x720, 23.98 fps, square pixels BUT the text and vector graphics look jagged. The PAR correction button is turned on. What's wrong? I've done several trial and error renders but when I view video from DVD on my 40" widescreen (16:9) TV the text and vector graphics look jagged or bitmapped. The final output is for a 36" widescreen TV,(16:9). Unfortunately, I don't have that actual TV for testing. Thanks! Deb

Return to posts index

Joseph W. BourkeRe: After Effects CS4 - Rendered Text and Vector Graphics are Jagged
by on Jan 12, 2013 at 4:41:46 pm

If you are outputting for TV (you don't say what country you're in), but let's assume it's NTSC, then you need to output in fields. For NTSC, it's most likely lower field first. There may also be a problem occuring when you convert from the original clip format to your output format. That could be causing field hash, which would show up worst where the contrast is highest - your graphics. You don't say whether the graphics were part of the original clip, or if you created them from scratch in AE. That could make a difference.

And if you're outputting for a standard DVD, as opposed to BluRay, then your master file should be 720x480, which will letterbox your clip. Any or all of these issues could be contributing to the aliasing you're seeing.

Joe Bourke
Owner/Creative Director
Bourke Media
http://www.bourkemedia.com

Return to posts index