FORUMS: list search recent posts

What should I quote?

COW Forums : Corporate Video

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Krissy CarstensWhat should I quote?
by on Sep 21, 2011 at 3:54:27 pm

Hello all. I'm a graphic designer and I have some experience creating short commercials, no portfolio, and it's not my specialty. I was approached by a client asking for a quote and I'm not sure what to charge.

This is what he wants: atleast 150 1-minute commercials for the web that are similar to the videos on this site:

(bad video, i know!)

I'll have to hire my friend that has all the video equipment, and I could edit and I'm guessing I'll be the one who provides the dialogue. This quote will exclude an actor for now.

Since its simple videos, I was initially thinking $100 per video (again excluding the actor) which would come out to $15k for 150. Is this too low or near the ballpark for my experience, etc?

Thank you all!

Return to posts index

Joseph W. BourkeRe: What should I quote?
by on Sep 21, 2011 at 8:56:12 pm

I think there are too many variables to quote at this point. If you don't hire an actor, chances are that the cost to produce is going to go up, since there will be more takes, the "talent" won't get every take right, which may require more post-production time fixing things, more time logging the good takes, searching for the good takes, editing out the mistakes, etc..