FORUMS: list search recent posts

Poor Quality of Final Video

COW Forums : Corporate Video

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Brandon Vaughn
Poor Quality of Final Video
on Feb 1, 2011 at 1:08:11 am

Hey guys,

You'll have to excuse me first-off - not only am I brand-spanking new to CreativeCow, I'm also relatively new to video production work. I lack ability to describe video in tech-jargon that I'm sure all of you would easily understand, like the guy in the auto shop describing the sound his car is making to the mechanic.

I have mild experience creating videos and I'm pressing my way through it one step at a time.

I've completed a video for our company that utilized Final Cut Pro and Apple Motion. The effects are really my first ever attempts at using either 2 programs, so bear that in mind when watching.

I shot all the footage on an NTSC camera Sony VX-2100 and am finding it disappointing that the end quality of the video seems that it would never even look good on a standard quality DVD. Still images are crappy quality, text is crappy - even the video seems crappy.

I have such an abundance of questions that I would love to have a mentor that I could have an actual conversation with, but since that is probably far-fetched - for starters, what is going on with the crawling still images being so terrible looking?

Return to posts index

Mark Suszko
Re: Poor Quality of Final Video
on Feb 1, 2011 at 6:29:42 am

Brandon, that's really not too bad at all, there's a lot to like about what you're doing, especially if you are super-new to this.

My guess about your graphics problems with the aliasing (stair-stepping effect on angled lines) is that you edited everything in a timeline using the DV codec, since your tapes were in that codec and it is easy to end up defaulting to that same codec for everything.