FORUMS: list search recent posts

adjusting setup levels on analog pass-through VHS capture

COW Forums : Corporate Video

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Kell Smithadjusting setup levels on analog pass-through VHS capture
by on Jan 14, 2011 at 3:58:54 pm

I'm capturing video to FCP 4.5 via analog pass-through on a pd 170. The captured video shows up very dark. I' m using the AV outputs from the camera and a firewire input into the computer. The camera offers a way to adjust setup in camera mode, but not VTR mode. I don't see a way to set it in FCP. Am I missing something very obvious or am I on the wrong track entirely? This is my first time transferring from VHS.
Thanks.

Return to posts index

Alan LloydRe: adjusting setup levels on analog pass-through VHS capture
by on Jan 16, 2011 at 7:41:07 am

What does the video from the VHS tape look like on a good monitor? What does it look like on a scope?

Return to posts index

Kell SmithRe: adjusting setup levels on analog pass-through VHS capture
by on Jan 18, 2011 at 12:15:28 am

I wish I had a scope, but unfortunately other than the ones in FCP, I don't. It's pretty crushed on that one.

It is, however, noticeably different between the LCD monitor on my camera and the computer monitor. I could see there being a little bit of difference, but it's major. I use this monitor all the time for my editing, and while it's not perfect and could use some fine-tuning, I can't imagine anything that would account for this other than a mismatch of the black levels.

Hmmm. Interesting question though. I do have a DVI to video adapter. It would be a hassle to pull it out and hook it up, partly because it could mess with the monitor setup, partly because it involves crawling around on the floor and dragging the computer out of the armiore to get to the back of it. But it would be interesting to see if the scope levels are the same.

I guess I'll have to run the audio in separately if I go that route.