FORUMS: list search recent posts

Post Project Depression?

COW Forums : Corporate Video

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Bob O'HearnPost Project Depression?
by on Jul 28, 2010 at 1:19:44 pm

Is there such a thing? Just finished and delivered a large corporate project for a long time client. And as usual,after the many legal, medical, regulatory changes, and internal mis-communications, just in the nick of time. I feel like I got hit by a truck. I'm a big boy and understand how the world works (for the most part). I get paid very well and can pretty much pick and choose who I want to work with. I have 30 years of sales and marketing experience in large pharmaceutical companies so I get hired for what I know as well as what I know how to do. But I digress. Lately, for a few days after these project completions, my wife says I'm starting to stare vacantly out the window a lot, jump when the phone rings and wince when I check e-mail. Is there a name for this? I love what I do but sometimes I get a little punchy. Do you?
Thanks. I feel better already.

Bob O'Hearn

Return to posts index

Thomas LeongRe: Post Project Depression?
by on Jul 28, 2010 at 3:08:32 pm

Same feeling, always.

Thomas Leong

Return to posts index

Mark SuszkoRe: Post Project Depression?
by on Jul 28, 2010 at 3:15:01 pm

You need to have the next project already in mind, then you won't feel such a "loss". It also may help you to re-charge your creative batteries to make the next thing something really different. Maybe even a freelance/personal project, that you can invest more "ownership" into. The lack of final control or ownership is part of what you're feeling is missing, so do something that's just for you, even something short and goofy for youtube or just your facebook friends, whatever.