FORUMS: list search recent posts

Coaching Client-Actors/Non-Actors

COW Forums : Corporate Video

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Adrian JansCoaching Client-Actors/Non-Actors
by on Jun 7, 2010 at 10:21:12 pm

Hello to everyone at the COW, I'm looking for some advice about coaching non-actors, but first, let me fill you in on the details of my work.

I'm a videographer for a company that does Internet marketing for Local level Insurance Agencies. Basically the company builds a website designed to draw in local online traffic and be as easy to use as any major carriers website. The company also flies the Head of the Agency down to our Hometown for me to film some videos of them against our green screen. Which means (at this point in my career) I am dealing exclusively with non-actors.

I film two types of videos with the client. First are some alpha channel videos, client standing up, shot cuts off around their waist - hips region, 30 second scripts detailing key points about the key pages of the website (for an example see: http://www.gdiinsurance.com/ ).

The other kind of video has the client sitting down in a chair (with part of chair back visible), bottom of shot cuts off around sternum region, usually set against a grey to white gradient and the company logo in the top left corner, scripts are 1 minute long. The audience receives the clip via email with a link to a page containing the video and some other information. Audience receives video in situations such as, if they're a new customer, or filed a claim, etc.

I'm a self taught 22 year old and I'm working completely by myself (I alone am literally the entire videography dept.) So I am always looking for ways to improve my work, and am never satisfied.

What I would really like to know, is what advice you guys have for warming up, or coaching your non-actors.