FORUMS: list search recent posts

Submitting a corporate video for comment?

COW Forums : Corporate Video

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Neil MyersSubmitting a corporate video for comment?
by on Apr 1, 2010 at 6:06:43 am

I am a relative newbie to Creative Cow. First, let me give credit where credit is due. This board has already seriously helped me several times. I am really impressed with the experience and intelligence on Creative Cow.

So, as a newbie, I have a question. Do people every submit their work for constructive criticism? I would be very interested (and a little nervous) about the collective feedback I might get, but I don't known if that "is done" or how to do it.

Neil Myers
Connect Public Relations
CS4 Master Suite, 3DS

Return to posts index

Timothy J. AllenRe: Submitting a corporate video for comment?
by on Apr 1, 2010 at 6:53:58 pm

First let me say "Welcome"! We are really glad you are here. People do submit videos for critique from time to time, usually by posting it to a website and posting a link to the URL here.

If you have a thick skin, it can be a great way of getting valuable feedback. Just remember - it's what your client thinks that's most important. (We video guys sometimes tend to focus on details that not every client will notice.)

If you post something for review, it helps us to know a little about the intended goal of the piece. Hopefully the goal would be obvious, but summarizing the intent really helps us gauge effectiveness.

If you are looking for technical critique, well... that's a little easier and less subjective. We all have different backgrounds and budgets and may have different paths to achieving the same things, but that may also give you food for thought on new ways to approach common production challenges.

So yes - by all means - as long as it's not proprietary info, you should feel comfortable posting. Most of us won't bite. Not enough to break the skin anyway. ;-)

Return to posts index