FORUMS: list search recent posts

breaking in to local commercials

COW Forums : Corporate Video

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Jensen Yanceybreaking in to local commercials
by on Mar 26, 2010 at 8:34:30 pm

right now I'm a student at Texas A&M hoping to get in to some kind of video production when I graduate, and one thing I've noticed since I've lived in College station is that the local commercials are TERRIBLE, I know for a fact that I can make a better product than what most of these businesses are putting on the air but I have no idea how I would actually start. I've got a portfolio of a few commercials that I've done for online contests, but does anyone have advice on how to get work, how to price commercials, and how to look more like a real business and not some college kid with a camera? thanks!

Return to posts index

Tom MaloneyRe: breaking in to local commercials
by on Mar 26, 2010 at 8:59:18 pm

Hi , am sure you could do better, but can you compete with the cable companys that make these? You will find they go out and make some of these for $300 . Very hard to compete with that and make any money

Good Luck

Return to posts index

Mark SuszkoRe: breaking in to local commercials
by on Mar 26, 2010 at 9:20:36 pm

$300? Try FREE. Free "production services" with the time buy. Very common. Nobody can beat free. Of course, it will look about how you'd expect, for the price paid, but usually the clients either don't care or can't tell the difference.

Return to posts index

Noah KadnerRe: breaking in to local commercials
by on Mar 28, 2010 at 10:27:40 pm