FORUMS: list search recent posts

How do I break into corporate video?

COW Forums : Corporate Video

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Robert McGunnigle
How do I break into corporate video?
on Dec 13, 2009 at 2:06:44 am

Hello all!

My subject line pretty much says it all! Currently I work at a medium-market television station producing client commercials. My duties include: meeting with clients to develop an understanding of their business and assess their advertising needs; writing scripts; shooting video; editing; creating graphics/motion graphics/VFX; & providing voiceovers.

I have 8 years of experience and was considering making the transition into the corporate video realm; however, I'm unsure as to how to go about it, what to expect, & what types of opportunities are available for someone like me.

Any input you guys could provide would be greatly-appreciated! Thanks in advance!

RM

There's no shelf-life on creativity.

Return to posts index

Mark Suszko
Re: How do I break into corporate video?
on Dec 13, 2009 at 3:38:53 am

This is just my opinion, but in this economy, what probably flies best right now is a contractor who only works as-needed, and is not on full time hire basis. The "gunslinger" that is called on just when there is something they can't already handle well enough internally. Mission-specific, per-project basis only. Get in, save the day, don't let the door hit you on the way out. If you're good, they put your phone number in the database for the next similar thing that comes along.