FORUMS: list search recent posts

Choosing the right NLE for corporate work

COW Forums : Corporate Video

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Martin BryantChoosing the right NLE for corporate work
by on Feb 7, 2008 at 11:35:44 am

I work in a school where I create promotional videos, educational videos and 'souvenir' videos of events. This falls (in the context of the forum catagories here) under corporate work in my eyes.

At present I'm using a seven year old Pinnacle Purple system that has served me well but I want to upgrade to something more up-to-date.

The obvious choice would be the latest version of Avid Liquid (which superceded Purple). However, I want a system that will allow me to produce the best results possible as well as develop my skillset. As no-one seems to use Liquid I'm thinking of Avid Media Composer or Final Cut Studio 2. I'm ignoring Avid Xpress Pro as at education prices there's no significant difference in cost.

Now... I want something that will allow me to work from start to finish without having to bring extra programs in. My workflow doesn't involve an offline, I'm straight into online and then burn to DVD and archive to tape.

My understanding is that Avid is a great editing system but requires the purchase of something like Avid Studio Toolkit for creating a finshed piece to a high standard whereas Final Cut Studio is all-inclusive.

I've discounted Adobe's Creative Suite as, Audition and Dreamweaver aside, I don't like working with Adobe software.

My boss also has a big say in what's chosen. He wants to go for Avid for the simple reason that it can run on Windows. We've been burnt by Macs in the past (lots of bad experiences with iMacs running iMovie for the students and a lack of in-house expertise with troubleshooting Mac problems).
He doesn't want to buy a Mac which we won't be able to fix easily - he'd rather stick with Windows.