FORUMS: list search recent posts

Feedback & ideas for New Equipment

COW Forums : Corporate Video

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
sikkdaysFeedback & ideas for New Equipment
by on Dec 22, 2007 at 1:09:19 am

Okay, let me tell you what we do at work. I work as a VT for a consulting firm, taping participants in a speaking course. The firm uses the footage to teach. Thus, I will tape the participants as they speak in front of the group, then one of the consultants and the participant go into another room to watch and discuss. At the end of the day, which is a full 8 hours(no time for editing), the participants get to take their individual tape home.

In the past, I guess it was all done with VHS. A VCR in the other room and a camcorder did the trick. Recently, another VT convinced them to drop the VHS and use DVD Recorders. Now, we have two identical consumer DVD Recorders. One is hooked up to the old VHS camera for recording and the other is in the other room for playback. When it comes to the end of the day, we have to Finalize the DVDs so the participants can take them home which takes 6-10 minutes for each DVD.

I would love to work with miniDV, it's what I know and a trustworthy format, however, we don't have time to capture & burn all those discs.

We have been having some issues with the DVD recorders of late, the DVDs give errors during finalization. I was thinking that maybe a straight to DVD camera would be better, it could take the beatings of travel better than the consumer DVD recorders. Yet, I had no idea that they don't make straight to DVD cameras. I see there are the 3" DVDs but not the regular size. Crazy.

The 3" DVD cameras have a 30 min recording time. This may be a problem, as the participants are recorded at multiple times throughout the day. I read that some of them can record 60min at LP, but I have no experience with the 3" DVDs, so I am unsure.