FORUMS: list search recent posts

hourly rate

COW Forums : Corporate Video

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
cow
pballain
hourly rate
on Apr 23, 2007 at 9:00:39 pm

I know this question will have many different answers because there is not one right answer...however, I wanted to get an average of what editors are charging for their time. I am just starting to actually charge for what I do for my clients. I have done corporate work for about 5 years now, but it's all been on the "side" when I have time. I am a very experienced editor working with Vegas/DVD Architect. I don't usually shoot the original video, but can. What is the hourly rate you all are charging for work on the editing side of things. I've been told that it's best to charge by the hour instead of flat rate per project.

Any answers will help out tremendously. Thank you in advance.

Return to posts index

cowcowcowcowcow
Mark Suszko
Re: hourly rate
on Apr 23, 2007 at 10:10:39 pm

Never charge using a flat fee. That way lies madness. Always establish an hourly rate.

You can use other folks in your area as a guide, but the first step is to calculate what it is costing YOU to edit, then build from there to include the profit. What some OTHER guy charges may have little to do with his OR your reality, so blindly copying another guy's rate is a mistake.