FORUMS: list search recent posts

Multi Screen Video Presentation

COW Forums : Corporate Video

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Brian Stetson
Multi Screen Video Presentation
on Aug 4, 2005 at 6:58:36 pm

Any suggestions on how to do a multiple screen presentation and cutting it on Avid? Does Avid have any native mode for this or will I have to do a picture in picture to view all the tracks on one screen at the same time? Plus what is the best way to show the presentation, I have never done this before and I went to the web sites that were listed previously but they do not say how it works. Any help would be appreciated thank you.

Return to posts index

Thomas Leong
Re: Multi Screen Video Presentation
on Aug 5, 2005 at 6:41:23 am

> Any suggestions on how to do a multiple screen presentation and cutting it on Avid?

I don't use Avid, but have played a little bit with the demo (very little bit). Being purely a VIDEO NLE, like all the others, I'd say Avid can only handle the normal video res - 720x480 NTSC or 720x586 PAL. The type of multi-screen presentations I presume you are asking about deals with resolutions well above that. Example of a quite standard 3-screen show with 20% edge-blend overlap would have a resolution of ((3 x 1024) - (2 x 20% of 1024)) = (3072 - (2 x 204)) = 2664 pixels horizontally and 768 pixels vertically. With no edge blend, it would simply be 3072 x 768.

> Does Avid have any native mode for this or will I have to do a picture in picture to view all the tracks on one screen at the same time?

Even a PiP will not allow you to view 2664x768 or 3072x768 since Avid's "one screen" is merely or a maximum of 720x480 NTSC or 720x568 PAL.