FORUMS: list search recent posts

Moving away from DVD for Recital type events. Any advice on digital file delivery that won't leave me broke?

COW Forums : Event Videographers

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Anthony Popolo
Moving away from DVD for Recital type events. Any advice on digital file delivery that won't leave me broke?
on Sep 26, 2018 at 6:38:24 pm

Hi,
I've been filming school shows and dance recitals for over ten years and have been selling them and distributing to students via DVDs. Some kids bought them, some didn't. No problem.
I hate that I shoot the shows in HD and have to dumb it down for DVD. Additionally, as DVD demand in general is going away, there is a growing demand for HD digital file versions.
Of course the problem is if someone buys an mp4, it's easily shared with everyone who didn't buy one. Pretty soon, only one person will buy it and share it with everyone. Not exactly the business model I was hoping for. In addition to digital files, I still want to be able provide DVDs for a hands-on keepsake.
Does anyone have ideas on navigating this landscape? I've considered the following:
- Video On Demand. I can set up a VimeoPro account where people could "rent" or "buy" on-demand (similar to Amazon video). Technically the videos would be open to public for purchase (no password option within Vimeo), which I'd prefer not to do for school privacy and copyright issues. I've considered code-naming the videos so they're hard to search for publicly and providing a passworded link from my webpage to the on-demand page.