FORUMS: list search recent posts

A wedding video contract without a business license?

COW Forums : Event Videographers

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Kago AiA wedding video contract without a business license?
by on Jun 9, 2016 at 12:28:19 am

A couple who wants me to shoot their wedding video wants to have a wedding video contract. I am a young videographer who is testing the waters, and I have just done just a few cash-deal craigslist jobs that didn't require a contract or a business license. I don't think of getting a business license yet since what I make as videographer is very little. Also, I work perhaps one time a month or two. My question is, is it ok to sign a contract with them even though I don't have a business license? Also, how do I report my earnings to the government when I am operating without a business license? I would greatly appreciate your advice.

Return to posts index

Greg BallRe: A wedding video contract without a business license?
by on Jun 9, 2016 at 7:36:37 pm

You don't need a license to report your earnings. But you should ALWAYS have a contract that includes everything you're providing. For example, location(s), length of time you'll be there. Meals, parking fees. What you are delivering to them.

Have them initial each page and sign the last page. Also, get a deposit up front and final payment should always be due before you deliver the final video to them. Include that in your agreement.

Even a Craigs list cash deal should have a contract. Even if you hand write it.

You should mention in your agreement that you are not licensed, so the customer can acknowledge that, just in case they want to dispute something. You should check with a lawyer.

You should report your earnings to the government, since that's legally what's required.

Greg Ball, President
Ball Media Innovations, Inc.

Return to posts index

Mark SuszkoRe: A wedding video contract without a business license?
by on Jun 15, 2016 at 8:51:25 pm