FORUMS: list search recent posts

Wedding Video Noise Removal

COW Forums : Event Videographers

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Casey VoelkerWedding Video Noise Removal
by on Aug 17, 2015 at 5:57:15 pm

This is my first time posting in here and I've tried finding other posts about this, but had no luck. I am about to purchase Neat Video to clean up some of my wedding footage. I know a lot of people use Neat Video to clean up all their footage, but I mainly need it to clean up lowlight situations with my Panasonic GH2s. My question is, what is the best workflow with Neat Video in Premiere Pro CC? Is it best to lay out my edit on the timeline the way I want to (this is for a highlight video) then remove noise before color correction or should I color correct, then remove noise then color grade?

Trying to find the most efficient workflow.

Return to posts index

Jeff PuleraRe: Wedding Video Noise Removal
by on Aug 18, 2015 at 8:08:15 pm

Hi Casey,

I use the Magic Bullet DeNoiser, but the issue with any video denoiser is speed - it can take a very long time (overnight) to denoise just a 30 minute HD video clip!

What I found when trying to apply the denoiser in the Premiere timeline is that everything ground to a halt. Can't really play the video, scrubbing is very slow, it's just no fun at all!!

So the workflow I started using is denoise the raw footage first before I do any editing, then the editing performance is not hurt.

I'll take the raw footage into After Effects, apply the denoiser and adjust, then export the whole thing to a good quality intermediate codec. I'm on the PC so that might be Lagarith or Cineform, similar avi formats. On a Mac, there is ProRes.